Feature Friday: Omoye Ogudo & Ellen Mar

22 Apr

Hello everyone, Feature Friday today on my BBM Channel (FICFAC – C0014488E) brings by a dint of coincidence, two religious-themed pieces to you. Read and comment below. Thanks.

The Master’s Table by Omoye Ogudo

blue skies

At my master’s table, or so I thought. I watched as he fed on all my energy. Trusted into his desires and in return I craved for his deeds….or so I hoped. He kept making demands and I willing never hesitated, for once I felt resource full, I felt heard…or so I thought At his feet even my face could not stare, below I laid my head, never wanting to hurt my masters feelings…awaiting his blessings ….or so I thought I fed him full…but I never had anything to feed on without hurting my bowels, one meal, loads of hurt from within Yet I kept hoping and believing I needed to be full to be free of pain…this I so much thought about I worked so hard, I was a master of many during the day and friend of none at night when the master comes calling…my mind was his favourite meal!! Oh how he loved it so!!!!
Places me in odd places, the battle never ends….sadness in the midst of everything….i thought I have In the little time I make for myself..i pounder aloud, I wanted to have dominion! To be in control! But everyday I feel like a prey!!! Hidden in the closet of my plenty….how pathetic how ironic….yet so real I was lost even in my familiar places I was empty even in my plenty I was lonely even in the crowd I was a slave even with my crown I guess it was a crown of shame And not a crown of fame I knew I was in the gutter Despite having an alter All this my thoughts gave willingly While I question I knew I had to make a choice I see another side of me I never knew This was not time for to wallow But to say hello I see the chapter Ask it shall be given Seek and you shall find Knock and it shall be open I have come not for the righteous But for you…me!!! I read again….i saw enough Where was this book all this while? How did I get the flyer Oh I remember That little child in my hood Coming to me that faithful day Bless you sir!
Today is your day! I received the flyer, just a paper..or so I thought I must run to this master that wants to serve me I must go to that house that wants to accommodate me I must go to that land I must leave my Egypt I must run to cannaland Where I will no longer be a slave in my home Where I will be served fresh meal from the alter Where I have found peace Where my emptiness is gone And I am now a master indeed Feeding and giving freely In this land.. I have found my peace….this I know!!! Second quarter of the wonder double agenda has began. Come and let’s be blessed From glory to glory.
Comment
I love the free-flowing emotion gushing from your writing – it feels real and original. The twist from the personal troubled experience to the ray of hope in Canaanland is woven artfully. However, this was hard to read! It came without paragraphs and even as much as I wanted to leave it unedited, I had to delineate it to aid better reading. Punctuation – missing full stops, non-capitalisation of first words and the misuse of ellipsis. It’s all over your writing as if to signify something above its normal usage. Typos – watch out for them in your writing. You may not be able to edit perfectly but make an effort. Overall, it’s a nice attempt. 

 

The Mind by Ellen Mar

moi 4 - Copy

Listen attentively
You want Christ so dearly
But why isn’t He coming?

Listen attentively
Desire the spirit! Open your heart!
God!! They always say that
Still He isn’t coming

Listen attentively
Surrender your being to Him
You think I haven’t done that?
He is yet to come!

Listen attentively
Love Him with the perfect love
Meditate on His word
Flee from sin!
Oh! It just seems impossible for Him to come

Listen attentively
Your problem is not that He refuses to come
But the truth
You are scared to receive Him
So scared that you cast all the blame on Him.

Comment
This is a simple poem yet it comes with such an appealing directness. A good attempt.

Leave a comment